Lucy is a PhD student at The University of Manchester who is working on female self-editing in the mid-Victorian period. Follow her on Twitter: @lucyhanks

 

I am currently preparing for my upcoming exchange trip to the Houghton Library, Harvard and Indiana University, Bloomington. Those preparations include: feverishly trying to finish writing the second chapter of my thesis, planning a perfectly stylish American-style “Fall” wardrobe, and making sure I have enough plug-socket adaptors so I can brag to my friends—I mean, keep up-to-date and share my research at all times. It is a three-month trip during which I am going to carry out fieldwork for my thesis and receive supervision from some of the leading academics in the field of Victorian Studies. It sounds amazing, because it is. And I feel so lucky to have been given the opportunity. The truth is that the NWCDTP are so supportive (both financially and academically) and—something you may not know—encourage all of their funded students to seek out opportunities like this.

 

Flashback to January 2018: I was growing more and more concerned about how I was going to complete the archival research for the third chapter of my thesis. The manuscript I need to consult is housed in the Houghton Library, Harvard and I simply could not afford to take myself there. Not only this, but I had reached a “creative rut” in my research. Most of the materials I wanted to consult to enrich my research are located in the US, and few of them are digitised. The Victorian Studies department at the University of Manchester is wonderful, but small. I noticed that the Houghton Library were offering visiting fellowships and the faculty advertised an exchange programme with Indiana University; I thought my prayers had been answered.

 

They were not. Both of my applications were unsuccessful. The academics I had made contact with at Indiana University during the application process were simply too supportive and excited to supervise my thesis that I could not pass up on this opportunity without a fight. And there was still that problem of the manuscript. I considered as many other funding options as I could find: I pestered the funding department at Indiana University, I pestered the English faculty at the University of Manchester and I pestered my supervisors. I applied via the Fieldwork fund with the NWCDTP to visit the manuscript in Harvard and my application was accepted.

 

It turns out some of the funding offices are linked and word had spread about my constant pestering. I met up with the funding administrator for the NWCDTP and she explained how I could apply through the Student Development Fund to finance an exchange with Indiana University. I had statements of support from my own supervisor and a really enthusiastic statement from the supervisor at Indiana to put forward in my application. The NWCDTP made it sound so easy. But my application showed why it was completely beneficial and relevant for me to visit Indiana University and absorb the atmosphere of the Victorian Studies department there. The NWCDTP want you to get the most out of your research and your PhD. If an exchange or fieldwork trip will help you to develop your thesis then they will try their best to make it work for you. And this trip isn’t just going to be beneficial to me. The University of Manchester and Indiana University are in the process of establishing connections and links between the two institutions; I intend to transfer my experience within the Victorian Studies department at Indiana across to Manchester to facilitate an international, interdisciplinary research network.

 

I’m going to spend a couple of weeks at the Houghton Library with my head buried in a manuscript. Once I arrive at Indiana University, I will be meeting weekly with my supervisor to work on the introduction and theoretical framework of my thesis. I will also be developing a journal article that I hope to publish before I finish my PhD. Aside from this, I have been invited into the Victorian Studies group and will be engaging in Victorian Studies-related seminars, events and social activities. Indiana University also have restricted access to the digital archives at New York Public Library and YOU BET I am going to be rifling through those.

 

It’s going to be great. I’m going to make the most of every opportunity that comes my way and, most importantly, try to make as many friends as possible. If there is one thing that I have learnt during my PhD (aside from the intricacies of female self-editing in the mid-Victorian period) it’s that people can be your best resource and can open up windows of opportunity in the future.

 

So, ~American accent~ see you on the other side pals! Thank you NWCDTP! Watch out USA! Lucy Hanks is on her way to Make America Useful-to-her-research Again.

Leave a comment